Photographers Beware: Do Not Read, This WILL Infuriate You

15 Mar

After publishing some photographs that I took in Paris last week, I was overwhelmed by the positive comments and feedback that I received upon releasing them into the blogging world. Some called them ‘inspirational’ and booked their trips to the City of Light, others ‘delightful’ and if memory serves, I believe the pictures even received a ‘stunning’ or two.

Now, I don’t like to toot my own horn, but even I have to agree that those pictures were pretty awesome. Toot toot!

To add to the flattery, once the post was published I also received several emails and Facebook queries from curious readers and ‘real’ photographers who were intrigued enough to solicit a little more information from me, such as: Did I freelance? Was I in Paris to shoot? What equipment did I use? And of course, all of these questions were speckled with an assortment of photography abbreviations: SLR, WCon, OOF, OC.

Admittedly, upon reading those abbreviations, one of my own immediately sprung to mind: WTF. As in, WTF do those abbreviations mean? As I’m sure it has now become abundantly clear, I am not a professional photographer (gasp) and quite frankly, the only SLR that I have ever heard of is a Mercedes Benz.

Now, this is the part that is really going to infuriate the professional photographers out there, the ones who spend thousands of dollars on high tech photographic equipment and who really know what SLR means… The truth is, I actually shot my photos with none other than my plain old iPhone 4s. Albeit, a blinged-out one. And furthermore, half of those photos were actually taken from the passenger seat of a moving Renault.

There, I said it.

I know, OMG.

I’ll admit, it probably would have been fun to masquerade as a professional photographer who could boast complex equipment for at least a little while, but alas, in the end I just couldn’t take the credit away from my trusty little iPhone. Granted, sometimes I wish I could ring Siri’s neck (pun intended), but then I think of all of the good times that we’ve shared: The drunken texts it has sent for me. The banking it has allowed me to do which has funded those nights in which the drunken texts were sent. And not to mention of course, the fabulous little blinged-out cover that it wears for me, purely to make me look cute, even though it knows that wearing diamonds before noon is tacky.

Here is one more photo, shot from my blinged-out iPhone, just for good measure:

20120315-162033.jpg

20 Responses to “Photographers Beware: Do Not Read, This WILL Infuriate You”

  1. mrsdentonorahippopotamus March 15, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

    Sometimes I think that people use all of those initials and jargon just to SOUND like they know what they’re talking about. And if they DO know what they’re talking about, then it’s just to sound like they’re important. I’m just guessing.

    • The Awake List March 15, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

      Well, I have enough trouble trying to speak in plain English, so I try to keep everything as simple for myself as possible (which includes avoiding jargon that I don’t understand)! Thanks for your comment πŸ™‚

    • Dennis Aubrey March 15, 2012 at 6:22 pm #

      Completely agree. Surefire indication that the photographer is a poseur is the use of acronyms and terms like “bokeh”. Keep shooting.

      • The Awake List March 15, 2012 at 6:37 pm #

        Haha, yes you are probably right. Although on occasion, I’ve also been guilty of ‘pretending’ to know what I’m talking about! πŸ™‚

  2. classicconfusion March 15, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

    Nothing wrong with that! I find with a bit of luck and the right lighting, I can get top-quality photos out of my iPhone 4.

    I agree about the abbreviations, unless these people know who they’re speaking to, they come off as completely pretentious when using them. Oh well.

    • The Awake List March 15, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

      Thanks for your comment! Yes, my iPhone definitely surprised me with the quality of the pictures it took. πŸ™‚

  3. blogreader86 March 15, 2012 at 4:34 pm #

    Love this post!! You’re fast becoming one of my favorite blogs! Do you know, a few years ago we went on vacation and forgot our camera. We purchased a cheap disposable one, and to this day, the pictures are some of the best vacation pics we have!

    • The Awake List March 15, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

      Thanks for the lovely comment, Blogreader! Glad the little disposable worked for you. I remember purchasing several of them years ago, however I don’t recall ever getting a single one developed?? πŸ™‚

  4. Tobi March 15, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

    You really rubbed it in with that last photo haha. Funny post and great photo.

    • The Awake List March 15, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

      Thanks for your comment, Tobi! Although I had no intention of trying to ‘rub it in’! Well, maybe a little. LOL. πŸ™‚

  5. Margie March 15, 2012 at 6:43 pm #

    My son is in Europe and sending amazing photos taken with his Iphone. It has a fab camera. I don’t have a fancy dancy camera with changeable lenses, and I love my photographs. More equipment or expensive equipment doesn’t mean better photos. Having a good eye for composition goes a long way. Mine fits in my pocket and goes everywhere with me. I love that everyone thought you had crazy equipment! Awesome!

    • The Awake List March 15, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

      Well, I’m sure your son will agree that it’s almost impossible to take a bad shot in Europe, even with an iPhone! It was very flattering that some people assumed my shots were professional, however I’m sure many more could tell right of that bat that they weren’t! Thanks for your comment πŸ™‚

  6. Sonel March 15, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

    Who cares what you used…LOL! You have quite an eye for looking at things and then capturing it and your photo’s are amazing. iPhone or no iPhone. πŸ™‚

    • The Awake List March 15, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

      Thank you for the lovely comment, Sonel! I believe I’m blushing! πŸ™‚

  7. Gemma March 16, 2012 at 1:46 am #

    OMG! I love my iPhone! I just recently purchased a camera – Nikon – and it’s very professional looking. I KNOW NOTHING about it, but I hope to learn. Meanwhile, back at the hosienda ( excuse the spelling) I AM USING MY BELOVED IPHONE. You have an eye for photography and I adore your photos. Go with what works! Lol. ABCDEFG…

    • The Awake List March 16, 2012 at 8:05 am #

      LOL, thanks Gemma! Good luck with working out how to use the Nikon… Just don’t use it in front of your iPhone – you wouldn’t want it to find out about the ‘other’ camera! πŸ˜‰

      (Even I’m shocked at how bad that joke just was).

      • Gemma March 16, 2012 at 10:30 am #

        Not at all. LOL. I am so in need of a laugh. Have a photographic weekend πŸ™‚

  8. frizztext March 19, 2012 at 7:39 am #

    thanks to your perfect iPhone!

  9. frizztext March 21, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

    Toot, toot: well done!!

Leave a Reply

